Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 24 hour daytona

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

24 hour daytona

Ok, so I saw mention to this in another thread and I have heard of it once before. I am rather new to racing so is this liek nascar racing. I know that Scott Dixon won it once and Milka Duno did too and I saw on wiki thta Danica was in it. What is it exactly, a bunch of different races happening in 24 hours, are there open wheel cars?

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The Grand-AM sportscar version of 24 hrs of LeMans held in Daytona Speedway on the road course. Drivers from many different series and disciplines usually participate.
    LBGP: The Sound - The Spectacle. Racin' at its finest.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's one, long 24-hour sports car race.
    racing-reference.info/showblog?id=1785
    9 Simple Rules as Suggested by a Nerd

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, so what kind of cars race there?

like were all the racers that i mentioned above in sport cars like nascar kinda?

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well the cars are divided into two classes. The faster class is known as Daytona Prototypes. The chassis uses a carbon fiber monocoque and a steel roll cage so you could call it a hybrid of an open-wheel car and a stock car.

The slower class is known as Grand Touring. The cars are modified street cars. The class is usually dominated with Ferraris and Porsches, but Pontiac and Mazda have been having strong showings lately.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts