PDA

View Full Version : Need opinions-Reputaion/reliability of newspaper "The Independent"

tannat
17th January 2008, 16:37
I'm an American researcher and need to establish the credibility of what is printed in the above listed newspaper/website.

Is it true bona fide journalism, or to quote Fleming more of a 'yellow press' publication?

Thanks...

Tannat

Brown, Jon Brow
17th January 2008, 17:23
One of the better newspapers in Britain I think that it is less biased than the others when it comes to politics.

tannat
17th January 2008, 17:34
One of the better newspapers in Britain I think that it is less biased than the others when it comes to politics.

Very good to know..

Cheers, JB :beer:

Robinho
17th January 2008, 21:55
IMO its some of the best journalism available in the UK, very good on current affiars, overseas, environment etc. as its name suggests not biased on politics and not afraid of a good expose.

one of the few papers with real news in it!

tannat
17th January 2008, 21:57
IMO its some of the best journalism available in the UK, very good on current affiars, overseas, environment etc. as its name suggests not biased on politics and not afraid of a good expose.

one of the few papers with real news in it!

This is really good to hear..

Hoping the columnist will respond to my email.

Thanks Robinho :up:

Brown, Jon Brow
18th January 2008, 11:58
This is really good to hear..

Hoping the columnist will respond to my email.

Thanks Robinho :up:

Why the interest in The Independent tannat?

wedge
18th January 2008, 13:17
All newspapers are biased to a degree, just read their editorials.

The Indy is very one-dimensionaly left-wing paper. Every time you go through that paper there's an article regarding global warming, green issues, anti-capitalism, human rights abuse and so forth.

If I wanted something more social-conscious read then I prefer the Guardian, IMO.

Garry Walker
18th January 2008, 15:36