PDA

View Full Version : WOW !!! that was fast !

RaceFanStan
4th January 2008, 02:35
My emachines computer that I bought new just over 2 years ago just gave-up it's hard-drive. :s
I pulled this old relic out of the closet & I am back online but at a much reduced speed.

I have a hard-drive that I could install into the emachines but I don't know if it will work.
You see I bought a new hard-drive for this 1999 computer a few years ago ...
it seemed so complicted to install & I'm still a novice when it comes to major changes ...
this old computer has a 400mhz processor with 512 MB RAM & Windows 98 ...
it wasn't anywhere near what was being offered so I opted to upgrade to a new computer ...

I opted for an emachines with AMD64 3000 processor & Windows XP, I had recently upgraded to 2048 RAM ...
I was happy but now the hard-drive just clanks, windows won't load & it's time for another new computer ... :s

This old relic is very out-dated but at least it still works. http://www.motorsportforums.com/forums/images/smilies/bomb.gif

leopard
4th January 2008, 03:37
Congrats for the new computer.

I have one nearly that spec, a 2 GHZ 1024 RAM, it's fast enough but when turn to job with thousand of nodes it's no good enough :D
Hoping someday to have opportunity to try the 2048 RAM, currently that's not enough urgency to leave the current one.

Surprisingly, I have to keep the old one with windows 98, 128/600 MHZ or so because there is an old program whose the format of the floppy cannot work properly using computer from the better spec.

Magnus
4th January 2008, 09:16
I have had the same master HD now for 7,5 years. When will it give up on me? I just it on a daily basis. I must say I am impressed!

Camelopard
4th January 2008, 10:01
I have had the same master HD now for 7,5 years. When will it give up on me? I just it on a daily basis. I must say I am impressed!

I hope you take regular backups!

Magnus
4th January 2008, 10:05