PDA

View Full Version : Daytona 2008

Paul Holroyd
4th December 2007, 11:26
Anyone going to Daytona!

At last I will be attending the 2008 24 hours of Daytona for the first time.

I was wondering if anyone can give some good advise on best place to view, take photos and what and not and what to see.

I will be presenting a commission to Alegra Motorsport (winners of this years GT Class)

Cant wait perhaps I could meet up with one or two of you.

DavePI2
5th December 2007, 12:22
I have never been there but I would assum anywhere in the infield would be preferable to the grandstands. Now MidOhio , that is the place to watch a race.

David

IMSAFAN1
6th December 2007, 19:38
I've been attending the 24 hours of daytona since 1985. The place was great before they started to light up the front straight. Sit in the grandstand for the start and the finish after that get your butt into the infield. The best place to watch the race is at either one of the horseshoes. Then wander around the paddock area. The race comes alive during night time. Dress warm at night as the temp. drops. Most of all have fun and enjoy. Also on saturday morning get to the paddock area and find out where the driver's meeting is and hang outside the door with a good Sharpie and a program.

Paul Holroyd
20th December 2007, 15:28
Thanks for that some very good advise.

We are not stopping to far away from the track so that helps a lot, I do go to Le Mans every year and the traffic is murder should I be aware of the same problem at Daytona!

I am hoping that due the fact that I will be presenting the painting to race team Carlos will have few Pit Passes waiting for me.

Where's the best beer tent.

jonhall
28th December 2007, 19:32
Here's some info on what to do at the track.

http://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/news/rolex_24_at_daytona/

jonhall
8th January 2008, 00:43
Is there a bikini contest like in sebring?

jonhall
10th January 2008, 18:50
Patrick Dempsey is also racing.

jonhall