PDA

View Full Version : Any "Road Racing" Karters here?

Sandfly
25th September 2007, 03:50
I'm new to Karting and have done some sprint karting but am changing the kart over to belt drive for longer 2 mile roadcourse racing. Anybody here with experience in that type of karting?

bennybigb
25th September 2007, 18:11
No, but I have thought about changing my shifter kart over to road racing specs. Do you know of any good kart road racing websites? Where are you from?

Thanks,

Ben

CCFanatic
26th September 2007, 00:13
I have done a few races. Using Enduro Karts though. Races were you switched racers half way through a race. The length of the races is the part that is hardest to adjust to.

Sandfly
26th September 2007, 01:13
The WKA has road racing in the Southeast at places like Road Atlanta, Daytona, Roebling Road ( Savannah ). There are races at many other real roadcourse tracks as well. I am going to the Savannah race in Oct so I can tell you more then.

There is a race in Road Atlanta in Nov and Daytona in December. I am not sure about other areas of the country.

JETFX...
8th October 2007, 17:45
I used to race SuperKart in 250cc national class here in Australia, that was a long time ago now it seems way back in the mid 80's.... Lots of fun on the local race circuits (Amaroo, Oran Park, Eastern Creek) infact most fun I have ever had on four wheels, bloody amazingly quick 240 kph and my one was slow for its class... :rolleyes:

Sandfly
10th October 2007, 02:05
Just finished my first road race karting weekend - what a blast!! Learned a lot. Tuned the Kart up a bit - could only get it up to about 97 mph, but that was great once we found the bent road end and fixed the toe-in and out