PDA

View Full Version : getting started in rallying

ridecwb777
5th August 2007, 23:47
im new to rallying and i really want to get started in it...i have a friend that would be my co-driver and we have been watching it on the x games. what does anyone suggest that i do first to get started in the sport? like what rally organization to get into, what is a good first car and stuff like that. i live in north texas so if anyone knows of and shops or anything like that please let me know...

thanks

L5->R5/CR
5th August 2007, 23:56
im new to rallying and i really want to get started in it...i have a friend that would be my co-driver and we have been watching it on the x games. what does anyone suggest that i do first to get started in the sport? like what rally organization to get into, what is a good first car and stuff like that. i live in north texas so if anyone knows of and shops or anything like that please let me know...

thanks

Since you are in the US go to the following sites.

http://nasarallysport.com

http://www.rally-america.com

and especially, http://www.specialstage.com (spend lots of time reading here, also, there are some teams in TX you can hook up with)

L5->R5/CR
6th August 2007, 00:25
Thought I would take the time to post some more to help for you.

In the US you have two series that you need to consider carefully.

Being in TX you have only one in state event, you have to go east, west, or north to find more races.

That said, if you want to do Rally America (the larger national series, but a bit more expensive and restrictive on rules) you have to start in a low powered 2wd car, or apply for a waiver to get into a lower powered AWD car. You will also have to get head and neck restraints before your first race (a good idea but lots more money).