PDA

View Full Version : F1 will not return to Indianapolis

Scheckterfan54
12th July 2007, 16:15
The Indianapolis Star is reporting that Bernie and IMS officials could not reach an agreement on a sanctioning fee. In turn, F1 will not be in Indianapolis in 2008. As an Indianapolis resident, I am very sad to see it go. Will it be relocated to another U.S. site? Maybe vegas?

luvracin
12th July 2007, 16:21
Dammit! I didn't go this year and so was planning on attending again next year!!!

I'll keep my fingers crossed until I see an official FIA/IMS announcement.

ArrowsFA1
12th July 2007, 16:40
I'll keep my fingers crossed until I see an official FIA/IMS announcement.
Here's the link to the IS story -

A stormy eight-year relationship between Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Formula One ended today with the announcement the international racing series would not return in 2008.
IMS chairman Tony George and F-1 boss Bernie Ecclestone could not reach an agreement on a sanctioning fee to continue the U.S. Grand Prix. George had set today as a deadline for a new contract.
Track spokesman Ron Green said both sides are leaving the door open for possible future events.
The relationship deteriorated dramatically after the 2005 race when only six cars competed because of safety concerns over Michelin tires.
The decision leaves the U.S. without an F-1 event and follows failed attempts at other venues, including Long Beach, Calif., Watkins Glen, N.Y., and Phoenix. Ecclestone has explored putting a race in Las Vegas but no agreement has been announced.
The Speedway's 2.6-mile road course won't go unused next year. MotoGP, the motorcycle equivalent of Formula One, is scheduled to visit in September 2008.
http://www.indystar.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20070712/SPORTS01/707120523

SGWilko
12th July 2007, 16:41