PDA

View Full Version : Difference in track layout: Champ Car and IndyCar at Mid-Ohio

Civic
16th June 2007, 01:42
I was surprised that an IndyCar got to within half a second of Paul Tracy's 2003 Champ Car pole time at Mid-Ohio.

Is the IRL using the same layout as Champ Car at Mid-Ohio? Also, it's my understanding that the backstraight "kink" was slightly straightened and repaved (this is what supposedly caused Joey Hand's end-over-end crash). If so, would this significantly affect overall laptimes?

Can't wait for July 22. Mid-Ohio is the only racetrack I've ever walked on (a 45-minute leisure stroll over one lap) so I've always had a certain affinity for that track.

45 Below
16th June 2007, 02:59
The track has been re-surfaced which has also affected grip levels. But reading the post-test comments from drivers who had driven there before most seemed to think it is more slippery, although Dixon felt grip levels had improved.

I'm no expert but I guess aero levels would also make a difference. If you have a track with a lot of high speed corners a less powerful car with more downforce will close the gap. But put them on a track that requires more acceleration from low speed then I guess more powerful, torquier cars are going to do better.

RGM Fan
16th June 2007, 03:01
My understanding is that they are using the traditional CART layout.

Dario's best time: 1:07.667

PT's old record: 1:07.058

Time turned in by a CC rookie in a solo test: 1:06.28

nigelred5
16th June 2007, 05:43
I've also read several times that the IRL cars in roadcourse set up aren't the total pigs we'd like to believe. They have a ton of wing, and they also went back to the 3.5 litre engine with the switch to ethanol.

Civic
16th June 2007, 10:22
Would love to see an IndyCar at Laguna Seca. Do current IndyCars have underbody tunnels?