PDA

View Full Version : Rally Italia Sardegna 2019 Trip

baconsandwich
5th December 2018, 11:09
Planning a trip for 4 people to Sardinia for 2019 - looking for some advice pls - total rally noob here

Are the WRC dates fixed, I am looking to book flights but don't want to be left with no rally to watch...

We will fly into Olbia, and stay in Alghero - and hire a car for the duration (Thursday 13th June to Sunday 16th June 2019)

Gold Pass tickets are optional yeh? Would you recommend any of these? Or just explore ourselves?

Is the route released yet, is Alghero a good base or would you recommend elsewhere (Olbia?)

Anything else?
Cheers in advance
Ben

AnttiL
5th December 2018, 11:21
Is the route released yet, is Alghero a good base or would you recommend elsewhere (Olbia?)

No, will probably be released in 2-3 of months. It's a small island and you can't be too far from the route anywhere. But the rally is based in Alghero and this year the route was moved closer to it and further from Olbia to reduce liaisons.

Simmi
5th December 2018, 14:46
If you stay in Alghero you've got a decent base for the rally, plus you can walk to service and there's some nice places in the old town. Quite a few drivers out having a beer on Sunday night too. I think most people rent cars from Olbia and drive across. That's what we did this year.

You don't need the gold pass. It gets you some pass-only spectator areas and parking closer to the tape but it's not always policed that well. Once a marshal wouldn't let us drive up to a stage because we didn't have a pass but we just parked on the main road. Up to you, but if I went again I wouldn't buy it. You need a ticket to go to the Itirri SSS if they run that again.