PDA

View Full Version : The Business side of Motorsport - Work Exp/ Volunteer

BenEvans94
31st May 2015, 18:23
Hi, I am currently studying a business degree but have a strong passion for Motorsport and F1 in particular so kind of hope to move into this industry on the non driver side in the future.

My problem is I feel you 100% need work experience to be successful, but finding any contacts or making an head way on this seems impossible... so I was wondering if anyone could offer any solid advice on any companies or organisations to pursue for some summer or on going work experience.

The areas i'm looking at are marketing, sales and PR (at any level of Motorsport at this point in time) but as I said my searches keep giving me dead ends.

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this but I'm guessing there is some vast and great knowledge here. May i add that I am not crying for someone to do all the ground work for me, I have just come to a dead end and really am craving a bit of guidance/ push in the right direction.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions!

Ps sorry if anyone has seen me post before about this, I'm just exploring all possible avenues!

Starter
31st May 2015, 20:36
First, where do you live (what country)? That has a lot to do with any approach you may take.

BenEvans94
31st May 2015, 21:31
My bad my bad. I'm from the UK, England. I'm not really location fixed within the UK, flexible.

janvanvurpa
2nd June 2015, 17:07
The areas i'm looking at are marketing, sales and PR (at any level of Motorsport at this point in time) but as I said my searches keep giving me dead ends.

It is only my personal impression but a) it seems as though the world of auto-sport--and sport in general already is overflowing with whole battalions of people "interested in" marketing, sales, and PR......
Indeed the word infested seems closer to the mot juste