View Full Version : Sakhir stats - the 900th Grand Prix in numbers

6th April 2014, 20:20
The 900th world championship Grand Prix was not just a thriller - it was also a race full of interesting statistical occurrences.
With victory in Bahrain, Mercedes became the first team since Renault in 2006 to win three consecutive races to start a season. The Silver Arrows also became the first team since McLaren in 2010 to score consecutive one-two finishes. Coincidentally, the winner of those races for McLaren was Lewis Hamilton - and that was also the last time the Briton won back-to-back races. Hamilton now has as many race wins as legendary five-time world champion Juan Manuel Fangio - 24.
Behind Mercedes, Force India scored their first podium since the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix, and only their second since Vijay Mallya assumed control of the team and changed their name from Spyker. Sergio Perez scored his fourth F1 podium finish and is now just three podiums behind Pedro Rodriguez for most rostrums by a Mexican driver.


More... (http://www.formula1.com/news/features/2014/4/15693.html)