PDA

View Full Version : Iconic F1 Cars

ilsit
3rd November 2013, 11:46
Hello everyone, and thanks for reading my post.

I'm in my final year of my degree for University, and have a final year project to do. The project I've choosen is the CFD Analysis,(Aerodynamics) of a front wing section on a Formula 1 car. The way I'd like to do it is compare the most iconic car from each of the decades, so from the 80's onwards (procinding my supervisor agrees) This will allow me to show how the front wings have developed over the past 30 years. Also with the wings being simpler in the 80's compared to now, it will allow me to build up my skills using the software slowly before undertaking more complecated wing designs.

This where you come in, if you could list your most iconic car from those decades I will note them down. I will then look to see if the information required such as wing dimensions if available to design them. Also, any information you have that could be passed on in terms of websites and books I can look at would be a great help.

Thanks in advance.

anfield5
4th November 2013, 04:43
Bit difficult to come up with one car from each decade ilist. In the 80's for example there were huge rule changes i.e. the death of ground effects and turbos.
From the 80's I would suggest the Williams FW07, possibly the best ground effect car ever built, but the front wings on these cars were for show, in fact the Brabham BT49 of 1981 did at times run with no front wings attached. If not the Williams then the MP4/4 was the most dominating car of the decade, winning all but 1 race in the '88 season,
In the 90's any Mclaren would do
And for the naughties it would have to be a Ferrari possibly the F2003 GA.

ilsit
4th November 2013, 17:47
Bit difficult to come up with one car from each decade ilist. In the 80's for example there were huge rule changes i.e. the death of ground effects and turbos.