PDA

View Full Version : Best option for a starter car

Garrettmc
10th December 2006, 22:50
Hello, forgive me for being rather new to the forum.

Im looking to start some rally racing myself and have been doing some research lately. I wanted to get some feedback on what would be the best car for me to buy in order to start rallying. My price range for the car would be around 5-6k and I wanted to start with a car that is 4wd. Im a student and I realize that 5-6k isnt going to get me anything spectacular but I'm very willing to put a lot of time and money into the car to make it decent. Im rather handy mechanically and love to work on cars so I would be doing the majority of the modifcations and work to the car myself.

So far I have looked at these cars:
- Subaru Impreza or Legacy
- Toyota Celica
- Ford Focus
- Audi Quattro
- Mitsubishi Lancer
- Volkswagen Golf

I realized that not all of those cars may come with a 4wd option, but was wondering if it was worth the time converting a 2wd car into a 4wd? Out of the list above, what would be the best car for me? Also, if you have a better car in mind then feel free to suggest it, im open to ideas.

Thank you for your time.

L5->R5/CR
11th December 2006, 06:12
Garret...

There is a lot to say here so please bare with me.

There should be more that goes into the seleciton of a car than just if it is 4wd or not for rallying.

What part of the country are you in? This will determine the amount of events that are close to you as well as who runs those events. One of the US sanctioning bodies restricts new drivers into low hp mainly 2wd vehicles. To run a 4wd you would have to contact the series administrator and get an exemption, probably for a non-turbo less than 2.2l car.