PDA

View Full Version : FIM Superstock

Mach24
6th April 2007, 10:10
I have just seen my first round of the FIM Superstock Cup (Donington).

Can anyone answer if the factories are represented with factory supported teams? It appears Ducati have a factory team, what about the big 4 Japanese?

There seemed to be a major lack of Honda and Kawasaki (up front). Suzuki were there but just, Mark Aitchison in what I believe to be his first race outside of Australia.

MV were leading until the second last lap.

Is there a resident FIM Superstock Cup know all amongst us?

ChrisS
6th April 2007, 15:19
I'm not an expert on Superstock but I dont think any manufacturer has a factory team. the specs for Superstock are very close to the production bikes so manufacturer support isnt really needed.

Ducati runs a Junior Team and some of the big teams in WSBK do run SST bikes too

Alstare runs a Suzuki SST bike
EAB Ten Kate isnt part of the Ten Kate team but their Honda is provided and tuned by Ten Kate
Lorenzini by Leoni runs SS and SST teams for Yamaha Motor Italia

patnicholls
10th April 2007, 23:38
A few other teams from WSB and WSS have teams in Superstock - Caracchi run Luka Nedog, Pedercini have a couple of Ducatis including for Sheridan Morais who did well at Doni, Marco Borciani's Sterilgarda team run two bikes and the Celani team run Mark Aitchison. The odd team that used to be up in WSB drops down to Superstock too as the race is cheaper.

To be honest I haven't really seen much outside of when I'm at Brands or Doni, as we don't get any TV of it.

But it's worth a look as the racing's good obviously, and some future stars will be found there. Kenan Sofuoglu was runner up in the 2005 series, for instance.

Mach24
27th May 2007, 12:15
Aussie 1, 2.

Roberts and Aitcho.

Aitcho leads the championship!

Mach24
29th May 2007, 01:43
Having just watched the Silverstone round of the SST1000 I gotta say how much I am enjoying the racing.