PDA

View Full Version : Design of a Dry Sump System (Wet Sump Replacement)

J_Bowyer
22nd October 2012, 21:17
Hello all,

Firstly apologies for my first thread beginning with a question, but I'm hoping somebody can help me.

As part of my Mechanical Engineering degree I have been given the task of designing a dry sump lubrication system to replace the wet sump found in a standard Fiesta Zetec engine (The design will include the oil pan, scavenge tubes, inlet tube to existing oil pump, but not the new oil reservoir or pump. The assignment in brief is to undertake research, carry out a detailed design specification and to come up with a number of concept ideas before creating a 3D CAD model of the final design. For purposes of the assignment, it has been stated that the finished part will be used for racing, (track) events.

I have little knowledge of dry / wet lubrication systems, apart from the basics as to how each work. So, I'm hoping somebody can help with the following points:

1. I will need to undertake Quality Function Deployment (QFD) Strategy. I assume the that the customer requirements will be the following, but what aspects of design affect these most:

* Easy to take on / off
* Reliable
* Lightweight
* Impact ressitant
* No oil at any one time
* Simplicity of gasket sealing
* Shallow (To allow the engine to be placed lower down for better handling - Is this correct?).

Can anyone think of any other customer requirements I could include? Or are there any important factors I should take into account in the design.

2. How do scavenge points effect performance / reliability - Is it best to keep it simple and have 1, or is it better to have multiple.
3. How does the depth of the pan effect performance - i.e is it better to have a deeper pan to avoid oil moving around when cornering, and is this likely to happen if it's too shallow.