PDA

View Full Version : English

BDunnell
10th April 2012, 16:01
While I may sometimes act as the unwanted grammar police on here, one thing that never ceases to impress me is the standard of English displayed by some non-native speakers of the language. I mean, the likes of studi... sorry, wiruwiru, jens and Eki demonstrate virtually perfect idiomatic English, and ioan, gadjo_dilo and many others aren't far behind — often, ahead of those who actually speak and write in English as their mother tongue. So, how did those of you with these skills come to pick them up? While I studied German at university and lived in Germany until last week, my command of that language is dreadful in comparison.

schmenke
10th April 2012, 16:20
Wots ur point BDunnell?

EuroTroll
10th April 2012, 16:20
Thanks for the compliment! :cool: I studied in an English-specialized high school called Tallinn English College. We had many English lessons, as well as English Literature, American Literature, and some other subjects in English. After that I went to uni in Helsinki where I also studied mostly in English; there was a special program for foreigners. Added to that, I've watched a lot of British comedy shows, which are excellent for picking up how the language is actually spoken: used and misused.

Eki
10th April 2012, 16:34
Well, I guess the biggest help has been that in Finland (I guess it's the same in Estonia) the English language TV programs and movies (and they are plenty) aren't dubbed into a local language, like in many bigger countries. I found it very amusing watching American sitcoms dubbed in Polish in a hotel room in Poland. Or watching Dallas dubbed in Spanish in a motel room in California. I think I have picked up most of the colloquial English I know from TV and radio.

For the more serious stuff, most of the literature in my line of engineering is in English, so being able to read and produce it, knowing the lingo is a must.

Then there's of course the Internet.