PDA

View Full Version : BBC Micro; 30 years old today

Mark
1st December 2011, 10:00
30 years old today Acorn and the BBC launched the BBC Micro - which over many years went on to be one of the most sucessful home computers of its time.

I was about 6 when I came home one day to find that my Dad had bought one - at considerable expense £600 with the machine and a floppy disk drive which on it's own cost £200, in 1984 this was a lot of money - it still is now!

The fact that today I'm a computer systems administrator all goes back to my Dad's decision go to out and buy a BBC B.

There followed lots of programming, playing games from Superior Software like Elite, Exile, Repton 3 and the likes. Christmas and birthdays for the next 5 years were sorted - just buy me a new game :)

I used that machine for a long time, over 5 years, in the meantime there were new machines on the market, Archimedes, Atari ST etc which I'd tried to get hold of but my Dad finally relented for Christmas 1989 when he agreed to buy me a PC, a 12Mhz 286 costing another whopping £1,200, but that's another chapter.

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/57052000/jpg/_57052571_bbcmicro.jpg

Andrewmcm
1st December 2011, 10:20
A similar story for me. I was 4 when I was introduced to a BBC Micro. 27 years later and I do computational modelling of fluid dynamics for a living. No doubt this is all due to the fact that I've spent most of my life around a computer and have a very natural affinity with them.

I used the BBC Micro until I was 11, when we finally got a 386SX 33MHz PC, with 4MB RAM and a whopping 120MB hard drive. Those were the days!

My favourite BBC games were Chuckie Egg, Felix Meets The Evil Weevils and too many others to mention.

Mark
1st December 2011, 10:41