PDA

View Full Version : Business Ideas

Brown, Jon Brow
11th August 2011, 10:49
We have seen a few threads recently where people are saying that they are out of work. In the current economic environment it seems getting that dream job is harder than it has been for some time.

As a recent graduate I am really finding it difficult to get onto the first step of the career ladder. As people with experience are losing their jobs they are applying for the same jobs as graduates. So it is difficult for graduates with little experience to compete in the job market.

Luckily I'm have a relatively sucure job for the moment. I got a full-time contract in the butchers job that I worked part-time as a student. But I don't want to spend my life as a butcher. It seems that the only way to step up the ladder is to set up your own business!

Now I've never really considered myself as an entrepreneur. I'm reasonably good at sales in my current job but I've never had the motivation to go out and sell things in the same way a young Alan Sugar or Richard Branson did. But after watching the last series of The Apprentice and I saw those clowns making over £800 in two days selling other peoples rubbish, I thought to myself 'how hard can it be?'.

Come and tell everyone your igenious business ideas, or advice on how you set up your own business.

:)

(no politics allowed in this thread)

Mark
11th August 2011, 11:19
Yes. It's looking like for me that despite having 10 years Linux sysadmin experience that counts for nothing. So I'm looking into starting my own business. Probably doing payoll! - As my wife knows about this.

schmenke
11th August 2011, 14:43
We have seen a few threads recently where people are saying that they are out of work. In the current economic environment it seems getting that dream job is harder than it has been for some time.