PDA

View Full Version : New to IndyCar

dunk106
30th May 2011, 20:43
Hi! Im from Europe. Im new in racing stuff but i want to start follow nascar, f1, indycar and stuff... now im trying to learn something about indycar. im reading info for few days so meybe i write here what i think is indycar and you would correct my point of view.

so indycar is usa open wheel racing.

there are 3 series: indycar series, firestone indy lights and usf2000 national championship.

all started back in 1902 and to 1955 it was American Automobile Association (AAA). From 1956 to 1978 it was United States Auto Club (USAC). To 1995 there were Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) with little help from Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) and USAC. Indianapolis 500 was in USAC however best teams were in CART and that was main thing. In 1996 Indy Racing League was founded and there were IRL and CART. I dont know where Indianapolis 500 was and which one of this two was main. And this is how it was to 2003. CART was renamed to Champ Car Open Wheel Racing Series and later to Champ Car World Series (CCWS). But there was finnancial probles and CCWS authorized bankruptcy and was absorbed to the IRL. From this time there is only one. Before this season name was renamed to IndyCar. ok this is what ive lerned correct me if its wrong, please.

and here ive got some more questions.
can we say that all that time is indycar history or all of it its different racing and its not one. meybe its open wheel in usa history. or how to call it?

is word indycar is only for irl and now indycar. i mean when people started to using this name. i heard that irl had problems with it so is cart also was indycar? i hope you know what i mean

how to call all this stuff like irl, cart etc. leagues? or how. you saw that i had problem with it ;D

how people call cars. because i dont believe that people call it "open wheel cars". indy cars or how?