PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain the basics regarding teams and sponsorships regarding Indycar?

Gazi
27th March 2011, 14:15
Newbie here, please bear with me here. My questions may sound a little confusing so for some clarity I'll randomly use Mike Conway/Andretti Autosport as an example.

1. What are the benefits of Conway being part of a multi-driver team, such as Andretti Autosport?

2. What factors determine or make an driver like Conway more appealing to a team like Andretti Autosport?

3. Is Conway and his entire crew (engineers, pit crew, etc.) now part of Andretti Autosport or does Conway have an entirely new crew?

4. Who does Andretti Autosport employ? (not looking for names but job titles, ie driver, engineer, etc)

5. What factors played a role in Tony Kanaan not re-joining Andretti Autosport?

Thanks for any insight!

Mightyreds
28th March 2011, 04:43
1) Being part of a multi-car team should provide more feedback for setting up the car. Four samples are better than one, although I'm not sure how much set up help you would get from Marco or Danica. Interesting to hear that Cannon kept talking Kanaan out of making changes to the car, maybe his former teammates will benefit from not having Tony's incite?

2) The size of his cheque, followed closely by his driving skill. With some other teams the driving skill is a distant second.

3) Don't know.

4) Lot's of people.

5) He was getting paid a large amount of money to finish sixth and Mikey figured RHR or Marco could do that for a lot less money.

Gazi
28th March 2011, 20:28
Thanks for your reply.

Does Andretti Autosport pay the drivers a salary on top of what the driver wins from the races?

What does the driver pay for when they're part of a larger team vs. being a 1 driver team?

I know there are probably other variables that come into play, but I'm trying to develop a general understanding of how things work.

MDS
29th March 2011, 18:52