PDA

View Full Version : Newbie.

EavesFan09
27th February 2011, 10:59
I am a total newbie. I just caught the start of the WSB race at Philip Island on Eurosport 2 and decided to continue for the first half and I was mightilly impressed. Even though I do not ride a bike I found the racing very attack-minded. Especially at the top of the field.

The beauty of TV coverage is you can follow the progress of the season and all forms are available to me. MotoGP (BBC), British Superbikes (ITV) and World Superbikes (Eurosport). I am thinking seriously about following two wheeled racing as well as four wheeled racing.

But which one is best? It seems you have the most recognisable names like Hayden, Biaggi and Corser with the WSB's.

Rod Richardson
27th February 2011, 21:40
Welcome to the world of road racing.

In a nutshell, the Moto GP series is considered to be the premier series of motorcycle racing which is for prototype machines and runs single races for Moto Gp Class 800 cc bikes and for Moto 2 Class bikes which, to keep the cost down, use various chassis but Honda 600cc engines.

The World Superbike Series (WSBK) is for street machines with several modifications and has two races per day for the 1000cc bikes and one for 600cc Supersport bikes. They also run Superstock races for 1000cc and 600cc bikes that are closer to street bike specifications.

The British Superbike Series (BSB) is for bikes of similar specification to WSBK bikes and is considered to be the “feeder” series for WSBK.

Irish Road Racing is in a class of its own and uses public roads through towns and countryside for racing bikes in various categories. Riders in this series are considered as being as hairy-chested as they come.

If you want an idea of what a white-knuckled ride is like, jump on You Tube and watch some “on board” video of road racing.

Here’s one of Guy Martin with a commentary on a lap of the Isle of the Man TT course. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVXc29ZgutI