PDA

View Full Version : Languages to be taught in UK primary schools

Mark
12th March 2007, 10:30
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/6435885.stm

Modern foreign language lessons could become compulsory for the first time in England's primary schools.

A government-commissioned review led by Lord Dearing is expected to recommend that all children should have to learn a language from the age of seven. At present the target is to provide an entitlement to do so by 2010.

It's about time! I certainly wish I was taught a forieng language at an earlier age, in fact I think it shouldn't even be left as late as 7 years old.

I only started learning French when I was 11 years old, by then I was too old for any of it to sink in properly, so even though I spent 5 years studying it, it's pretty much been a waste of time for me. :(

Ian McC
12th March 2007, 10:52
forieng language

Err, a what? :p :

I thought they already taught two languages, English and Text Speak

BDunnell
12th March 2007, 10:56
It's about time! I certainly wish I was taught a forieng language at an earlier age, in fact I think it shouldn't even be left as late as 7 years old.

I only started learning French when I was 11 years old, by then I was too old for any of it to sink in properly, so even though I spent 5 years studying it, it's pretty much been a waste of time for me. :(

That's probably just you, though. Some people have a gift for learning languages and are able to get them to sink in after beginning to learn them aged 11; some find it harder or impossible.

Of course it's good news that language learning is going to start earlier. Our lack of competence in this regard compared to our European neighbours is embarrassing. However, where will the properly-qualified primary school language teachers come from?

jim mcglinchey
12th March 2007, 11:07
I think primary school teachers have enough on their plates just getting the kids up to a half decent level of numeracy and literacy.

Mark