PDA

View Full Version : Transfer Vinyl to MP3 format

KILOHMUNNS
14th August 2010, 20:39
I'm getting old :p

So I have a fair bit a Vinyl that I can't get in CD/MP3 format and want to copy these records onto my PC so I can listen to them again.

There seems to be a number of Record decks with a USB connection (with a programme) to do this but I don't know which one I should go for. I have heard there are some that only record it in one lot (eg the 1 side of an album) which would be a pain to listen to on MP, while others recognise the breaks between tracks and save them as individual tracks. Also there is a varied difference on sound quality.
Can anyone give some advise?

Thanks

Drew
14th August 2010, 21:32
I have no experience with them whatsoever, but if you buy one and it does just record the whole thing as one mp3, you could easily download "audacity" With audacity you can easily edit songs, making separate MP3s for each song.

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Captain VXR
14th August 2010, 21:40
There's a shop in Bath that converts vinyl into cds, which could then be put on a pc/mp3 player

ShiftingGears
15th August 2010, 04:26
It might be cheaper to transfer to CD, but really just buy the CDs. You don't really want to listen to CDs with background static on them.

edv
15th August 2010, 15:06
I've done vinyl ripping on various occasions with very good success.
Your success depends upon how willing you are to work at the project.
There is no 'magic pill' application that will digitise your records to the most optimum level. You will need to intervene and perform some audio signal processing in order to achieve the best results...and this is not something that you would want to have to do over again.

The method that I have used in the past is to hook up a good quality turntable to an amp or pre-amp and feed line-outs into your PC sound card. The alternative is a newer USB turntable that hooks directly to the PC.