PDA

View Full Version : Any Bikers Out There?

EuroTroll
27th March 2010, 05:03
I'm a novice biker. Bought me a bike last autumn, a Kawasaki chopper. It's a beautiful machine and if I could, I would have children with it.

I'm not entirely comfortable with it yet though. Any tips from you more experienced guys on what to learn, what to read?

Any tips, moral stories, cool experiences -- welcome. :burnout:

markabilly
27th March 2010, 13:28
look for people turning in front of you

In the good old days, when riding the street, I always looked for the eyes of people who might turning left or pulling out onto the roadway in front of me.

If their eyes met my eyes, they usually did not turn in front of me to be a danger. But if they did not, then too often, they did turn in front of me such that I was lucky not to crash into them.

Now the reason I say good old days, it is because in the sixties and seventies, windshields were made with lead safety glass, and it was very easy to see the driver's face and eyes.

Cycles are much harder to see and to judge their speed for many drivers, esp those without extrememly good depth perception. It is easy to judge the speed of an oncoming car, as it is wide and the more quickly it gets wider and wider, then the easier it is to know the speed and distance.

Unfortunately, there is no such advantage with motorcycles and in the absence of great depth perception, it is very difficult for the car driver to make a correct call on speed and distance.
Riders always curse drivers for "not watching out!!", but the problem is far more complicated than mere inattention and even with great depth perception, picking out a motorcycle from the background clutter is still tough. You are a thin little vertical line for the driver, and with the right background clutter of other objects, can be very difficult to see. Add in the issue of depth percetion for many drivers even with out the background clutter......