Placid
11th August 2009, 06:53
Would there be a possibilty to get that young US driver in F1 by
competing in the GP2 Asia Series?

MikeD
11th August 2009, 19:18
Would there be a possibilty to get that young US driver in F1 by
competing in the GP2 Asia Series?

I work as a journalist in GP2, and to be honest then most of the teams are using GP2 Asia to test drivers for the main series. It wasn't a big problem last year, but this year it was very obvious.

I am also starting to have doubts if GP2 Asia will continue this year, because the purpose of the series was to generate asian talent, and despite the fact that we got a Japanese champion in Kamui Kobayashi, then he has little chance of making it into F1 simply because he isn't talented enough.

Originally it was also intended that there would be a GP2 America series going all the way from Canada to Argentina, but it never materialised.

So to answer your question, then GP2 Asia is NOT the right stepping stone to F1. You have to do really well and show true talent in the GP2 main series to get a seat in F1.

Nikki Katz
12th August 2009, 18:17
I work as a journalist in GP2, and to be honest then most of the teams are using GP2 Asia to test drivers for the main series. It wasn't a big problem last year, but this year it was very obvious.

I am also starting to have doubts if GP2 Asia will continue this year, because the purpose of the series was to generate asian talent, and despite the fact that we got a Japanese champion in Kamui Kobayashi, then he has little chance of making it into F1 simply because he isn't talented enough.

Originally it was also intended that there would be a GP2 America series going all the way from Canada to Argentina, but it never materialised.

So to answer your question, then GP2 Asia is NOT the right stepping stone to F1. You have to do really well and show true talent in the GP2 main series to get a seat in F1.