PDA

View Full Version : I´m glad williams didnt sell his team to BMW.

ratonmacias
30th July 2009, 04:39
Well as much as a shock it is to me that BMW is out they were a faceless team even when succesful. their most recognized driver was Jaques Villeneuve and that was 3 years ago. Kubica might be atractive as a driver to some fans but not one of the big hitters.

in my view BMW should have gotten a better driver than either of the two they have and specially a more mediatic one as their drivers are worthles in this world ruled by the marketing dept.

with all this it would be a really sad day if the team in trouble was williams and not sauber.

Shifter
30th July 2009, 04:51
I'm a business student and I did a paper on Frank Williams and his business sense in F1. There's a reason why there is still a team with his name on it when others have folded. Success is harder to come by these days, but he has made the right moves and now despite the current climate, regs, and economy his current star driver is bagging points-scoring finishes late in the season. Look for him to also outlast other independants like Vijay and others who join in 2010. Remember when, after losing them as a supplier, he said that BMW lacked an understanding of the sport? Looks like ole Frank was right again.

Saint Devote
30th July 2009, 13:02
Definitely a reason why Williams is still around - because he has a burning passion for f1 unlike the manufacturers. It is what he does and wants to do.

He is prepared to and has risked everything before to remain in raising - mortgaging his house to ensure that there was a car for Piers Courage.

Then as he understands the business because he must and because he loves it, he picks similar people. His single greatest selection was that of Patrick Head. Second most was AyJay.