PDA

View Full Version : Qualifying Conditions Thoughts

Hoop-98
11th May 2009, 15:07
There was a fair amount of discussion about qualifying conditions. Disclaimer; My expertise is in vehicle diagnostics and telematics, I am only an amateur race engineer ;)

Weather:

http://i43.tinypic.com/fm6ucx.jpg

The HP difference (Based on 650 @ STP plus 20 with ram effect corrected SAE J1349) is at most 10 BHP which is roughly .6 MPH.

The primary components are Baro (more is better and humidity, less is better). You have to subtract the vapor pressure from the total pressure to get the dry air pressure, to know the combustible air per volume.

The air density range is 95.9% to 97.1% which gives a drag variance of about 8 HP, but when you add more wing to make up for the lost downforce it is about a zero sum gain.

Note: Humidity decreases drag and downforce and decreases HP.

Track Temperature is unknown, ideal Track Temps are about 60 - 90 degrees, after that the track loses grip. This varies based on asphalt and tire compound.

Wind Gusts were likely the biggest factor:

Gust
19.0mph
17.0mph
5.0mph
8.0mph

You end up adding downforce and therefore drag to deal with the worst case scenario.

So .6 MPH for HP, net for air density as far as drag and downforce, similar for track temp and then a wild guess of .7 for Wind Gust loss and I am calculating that the best run condition on Sunday was about 1.3 better than the worst time on Saturday.

Gotta do something when the track is closed.

Thoughts

rh

garyshell
11th May 2009, 16:08
Disclaimer; My expertise is in vehicle diagnostics and telematics, I am only an amateur race engineer ;)

...snip...

Maybe an amateur, but one hell of an amateur!

I always thought that humidity INCREASED drag and downforce, because the air was thicker and heavier, just as cooler air is thicker and heavier? No?

Gary

dataman1
11th May 2009, 18:15
I believe you are both saying the same thing. Hoop was referring to barometric pressure then humidity.