PDA

View Full Version : IE 8

A.F.F.
26th March 2009, 13:47
Is it any good? I mean, worth of downloading and using?

schmenke
26th March 2009, 14:11
I've been using it for close to a year now with no complaints :)

Garry Walker
26th March 2009, 15:21
Whilst I am no PC expert, I tend to avoid IE like plague and my more PC-smart friends are the same.

Dave B
26th March 2009, 17:01
There's absolutely no need to avoid any recent version of IE, and IE8 is probably as good as you're going to get in terms of security. The mindset which says "you can't get viruses on Firefox" is a dangerous one perpetuated by the more ignorant parts of the media, who should know better.

With a modicum of common sense (don't go downloading and running files from dodgy sites), any browser is perfectly secure. Find the one you like best and don't listen to the naysayers.

Wade91
26th March 2009, 17:11
There's absolutely no need to avoid any recent version of IE, and IE8 is probably as good as you're going to get in terms of security. The mindset which says "you can't get viruses on Firefox" is a dangerous one perpetuated by the more ignorant parts of the media, who should know better.

With a modicum of common sense (don't go downloading and running files from dodgy sites), any browser is perfectly secure. Find the one you like best and don't listen to the naysayers.
i have 5 browsers IE7, firefox, opera, google chrome, and maxthon, i mostly use firefox and it hasn't done anything to prevent me from getting viruses (not that i exspected it to though) i am thinking about downloading IE8

it will be inreresting to see how well IE8 catches on, becouse recently IE seems to have lost alot of populairty

A.F.F.
26th March 2009, 21:18
Ok, cheers guys. I'll give it a shot :)

Daniel
26th March 2009, 21:21
I'm thinking that there is something wrong with IE8 on 64 bit systems :mark: