PDA

View Full Version : CMR2 Question

lugnut_usa
13th December 2008, 14:57
So, I have a question in regards to CMR2 and the championships that are run here.

I picked up CMR2 when it was released, many ages ago. Most of my experience dates back to that time, I didn't really pick it up again until jumping into some of the action here (and my stage times back that up, unfortunately). :D

I've been reading though the 2009 thread and I'm somewhat puzzled. :confused:

I have zero experience with the mods for CMR2, all I've ever used is the base game. I'm seeing a lot of car names being tossed around, and I gather you guys are still deciding what to race?

So, I guess what I'm asking - I have a clean install of CMR2 on my PC, no patches or add-ons of any kind. Is there anything that I should be downloading and installing either for my own benefit or to be compatible with the coming season?

kabouter
13th December 2008, 15:30
It is always possible to compete with just a basic install (I'm doing that myself). In fact the only mods allowed are ones which change the appearance of cars (or background items), not ones which change the physics of the game. So you are allowed to skin a car for a more realistic (2009) experience, but the car behavior will be exactly the same as in the original game. So playing with the original game is fine. People on a PS can't do anything else anyway...

Rat
15th December 2008, 12:13
thats right, all i've done is skin a few cars and left the good 'ol CMR2 alone!

52Paddy
15th December 2008, 22:50
I don't think its possible to change the physics anyway. Skinning the cars and changing the engine sounds are the only major mods. I have the 2007 engine sounds, but that doesn't change how the cars drive so we're all equal. :)

Marcel Haenen
16th December 2008, 07:57