PDA

View Full Version : Quiet engines

seppefan
12th December 2008, 12:22
Now that is going to add to the spectacle....

NickFalzone
12th December 2008, 19:02
You'll never please all the people all the time. Many fans have complained about the shrill pitch for years, now they fix it and some will complain that it's too quiet. If they sound more like turbos, then I'm all for it.

garyshell
12th December 2008, 19:07
Now that is going to add to the spectacle....

I think it very well could. As a former audio engineer, I can readily say that taking off 9db of the high end rather shrill sound of the engines could leave us with a pleasurable throaty sound. Volume for volume's sake is not a good thing. Witness the audio compression wars that has gone on in CD mastering over the past years, culminating in the release and subsequent backlash of the latest Metallica cd.

See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

And

http://blog.wired.com/music/2008/09/does-metallicas.html

Bottom line: give me a nice throaty sound at a lower volume a over high volume high frequency sound any day.

Gary

gofastandwynn
12th December 2008, 19:52
If it's too loud, you're too old.

Go to a NHRA national event. Not that is loud...

garyshell
12th December 2008, 19:58
If it's too loud, you're too old.

Go to a NHRA national event. Not that is loud...

Loud yes, but at what frequencies? It is deep and throaty. I like loud. But I want the loud to hit me in the chest, not make my ears bleed.

Gary

raybak
13th December 2008, 12:21
We had a local resident complaining about the noise levels from our Hillclimb track. Even had the EPA out there testing the noise when we had a race meeting on. Was just above ambient noise that they measured.

We sorted him out though. Every time we run an event we have to put an ad in the local paper to say that we are running the event so the locals will know. We ran an ad for an event, didn't actually run the event and we still got a complaint about the noise.