PDA

View Full Version : 24 hour daytona

jackmart
1st August 2008, 03:00
Ok, so I saw mention to this in another thread and I have heard of it once before. I am rather new to racing so is this liek nascar racing. I know that Scott Dixon won it once and Milka Duno did too and I saw on wiki thta Danica was in it. What is it exactly, a bunch of different races happening in 24 hours, are there open wheel cars?

pits4me
1st August 2008, 03:05
The Grand-AM sportscar version of 24 hrs of LeMans held in Daytona Speedway on the road course. Drivers from many different series and disciplines usually participate.

call_me_andrew
1st August 2008, 03:16
It's one, long 24-hour sports car race.

jackmart
1st August 2008, 03:37
Ok, so what kind of cars race there?

like were all the racers that i mentioned above in sport cars like nascar kinda?

call_me_andrew
1st August 2008, 03:45
Well the cars are divided into two classes. The faster class is known as Daytona Prototypes. The chassis uses a carbon fiber monocoque and a steel roll cage so you could call it a hybrid of an open-wheel car and a stock car.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/108/303172010_3cc2075769.jpg?v=0

The slower class is known as Grand Touring. The cars are modified street cars. The class is usually dominated with Ferraris and Porsches, but Pontiac and Mazda have been having strong showings lately.

http://www.irise.com/images/gt_class.jpg

BoilerIMS
1st August 2008, 03:45
The cars at the Daytona 24 Hour race are Grand Am spec sportscars in two classes, the "Daytona Prototype" and "Grand Touring." Both types have roofs. Daytona prototypes are a tube framed chasses with V8 engines (save the handful of Porsche prototypes), several chassis are available along with several engine makes. The GT cars are either lower tech "true" GTs like the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup (several specs below the Le Mans 911) or Grand Am "Prep 2" chassis, which are really generic tube frame cars with sillouette bodywork and a stock-based engine.