PDA

View Full Version : Alternator question

wh33t
25th July 2008, 06:51
A friend of mine and I are having a discussion about alternators and I had some questions for some alternator experts out there.

Does pulling more amperage off of your Alternator create/increase drag on the motor? If so, how does it do this?

We are trying to debate whether or not having a super loud stereo in your car, having fog lights, power windows etc reduces fuel economy.

Mark
25th July 2008, 07:50
I'm no expert but I believe the answer to be 'yes'. Basically I think the alternator belt slackens or tightens to a degree depending on the load requirement and thats determined by the battery charge level. I don't think the difference will be massive tho.

Of course it's always running to some extent. You'll have to make sure that your alternator is capable of meeting your power requirements otherwise you'll drain your battery to death :p

leopard
25th July 2008, 07:54
In the debate probably your friend was right that additional feature or accessories used in your car wouldn't reduce fuel consumption.

MrJan
25th July 2008, 08:33
In Pimp My Ride (don't judge :D ), they often add extra batteries (see the one with ridiculous bass, where they put a 27" (??) Sub in the back seat :cheese:

Dave B
25th July 2008, 11:00
We are trying to debate whether or not having a super loud stereo in your car, having fog lights, power windows etc reduces fuel economy.
It will, but the effect will be barely noticable.

Even a modest engine is capable of about 60kW, standard foglights are usually 50W (each bulb), a standard stereo at full volume about the same.

Electric windows obviously aren't going to be in constant use, so it becomes a question of mass: does the motor and wiring weigh more than a manual mechanism? Again the result will be so small as to be irrelevant.

:)

Kneeslider
25th July 2008, 16:13
Well there are two main ways of generating an electric current. A Dynamo, and an Alternator.