PDA

View Full Version : Advice for Newcomer

Sparky22
20th April 2008, 18:56
Hi,

I a 23 year old guy living in Sheffield (UK) who wants to get into motorsport. My interest is in cars (open to pretty much any type of motorsport using cars) and would be focused on the technical side rather than driving.

I dont have the money or support to start up something on my own so would really like some advice on how i could get involved.
I thought my best bet would be with an amature team looking for an extra pair of hands, but im not sure if any teams would be open to such an offer. Im not a trained mechanic and, although Im very smart and have good knowledge of how engines and vehicle components function, I dont have any hands on experience beyond servicing my Peugeot 106 and replacing the radiator (Id be hoping to learn alot more through working in a race team).
Additionally, I dont really know how to contact any amature teams (besides using forums like this).

Any advice on how I could get started would be great or if you are a team looking for someone like me then let me know.

Cheers!

Daniel
20th April 2008, 19:00
Get down to your local track or motor club and ask around :)

Zico
20th April 2008, 21:05
If you want a career on the more technical side of racing other than just being a competant mechanic I think you will probably need further education in motorsport engineering at college or Uni...and some help with contacts as described on this helpful thread (Hope the mods dont mind ?) http://www.ten-tenths.com/forum/showthread.php?t=102009

Meanwhile I'd do as Daniel suggests until you find your niche in racing, rallying or whatever.

Good luck.. :)

Azumanga Davo
21st April 2008, 15:13
I happened to get involved because the driver of the team was looking for someone to lend a hand. You would be surprised how difficult it normally is for motorsport teams who are "amateur" in status to get willing people to help out in exchange for a free lunch.