Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Post Best diet and supplements for motor sports athletes

Hi there, I am a post graduate student conducting research on the behaviours of motorsport athletes regarding consumption of supplements pre, during and post-race. I would hugely appreciate your help with this. Can you please tell me your diet for all stages and or if you take performance supplements and why? Thanks so much

Liked 387 Times in 327 Posts

Any motorsport athletes here??????

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Isn't this a motorsport forum?

Liked 387 Times in 327 Posts
    It is but most of the members are hardly motorsport athlets.

Liked 335 Times in 204 Posts
    This may not be what you're expecting but I do sprints and hillclimbs so will run you through a typical event.

My diet in a race day will usually be something like a Belvita breakfast bar when leaving the house at 6:30/7am (depending on where we are). After getting to the venue and getting through signing-on/scrutineering I will usually have a high fat/high carb/high protein meal, most commonly a sausage and egg bap, occasionally I have the hankering for some bacon though. I generally then won't eat until the lunch break, although may have a small chocolate bar or piece of cake before 2nd practice. Something like a Rocky or Club biscuit, with a cup of coffee to wash it down (white, one sugar). Lunch will depend on the venue and catering facilities. It might be something packed at home, a beef & mustard sandwich or chicken mayo, in some places I'll use the catering van and have a pulled roast pork bap (with stuffing and apple sauce) or chips with curry sauce. After that maybe a caramel waffle and, if I'm still hungry, an apple.