Page 170 of 173 FirstFirst ... 70120160168169170171172 ... LastLast
Results 1,691 to 1,700 of 1721
  1. #1691
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    184
    Like
    52
    Liked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    What was the penalty?

  2. #1692
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    21
    Like
    0
    Liked 26 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    What was the penalty?
    Mattias Ekstrom #1, relegated from second to third place in semi-final one for not respecting the priority of the driver on the standard lap at the Joker merge.

  3. #1693
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    184
    Like
    52
    Liked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    So he was at fault at the joker merge, just like I said earlier. But taking shortcuts that's no problem?

  4. #1694
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    21
    Like
    0
    Liked 26 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    So he was at fault at the joker merge, just like I said earlier. But taking shortcuts that's no problem?
    It looks like there was some penalty for that. Here is list of all penalties issued:


    Niclas Gronholm #68, loss of 10 Championship points for use of a seventh turbocharger in the season.

    Mattias Ekstrom #1, five-second penalty in Q2 for causing an incident with car #44, pushing and overtaking.

    Janis Baumanis #6, reprimand in Q2 for pushing.

    Ken Block #43, disqualified from semi-final two after car was found to be underweight.

    Mattias Ekstrom #1, relegated from second to third place in semi-final one for not respecting the priority of the driver on the standard lap at the Joker merge.

    Timo Schedier #44, reprimand in semi final two for pushing.



    There must be more to the story with Block. Highly unusual for the scrutineers and stewards to not take the bodywork weight into account.
    I could not find the relevant section of the regulations for WRX so have borrowed from F1: "The relevant car may be excluded should its weight be less than that specified in Article 4.1 of the Technical Regulations when weighed under a) or b) above, save where the deficiency in weight results from the accidental loss of a component of the car." So, the scrutineer at their discretion can allow the weight of the missing component to be factored in, at least in F1. Again, there has to be more to this story.
    Last edited by OHL; 13th November 2017 at 14:00.

  5. #1695
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    184
    Like
    52
    Liked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    So no penalties for taking shortcuts... The south Africa round is a joke.

  6. #1696
    Senior Member MrJan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Exeter
    Posts
    7,934
    Like
    21
    Liked 276 Times in 164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    So if you feel someone holds you up you're free to take shortcuts on the track?
    No, I said that I could understand why the stewards may have been lenient in the circumstances.

    Also the place (advantage) that he gained by cutting the corner was ceded. It gave the stewards the excuse that they needed to put him in the final and continue the show, if they penalised him then it gives 2nd place to Petter. And if you haven't worked out that WRX is all about the show then you must have your eyes closed.
    You're so beige, you probably think this signature is about someone else.

  7. #1697
    Senior Member MrJan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Exeter
    Posts
    7,934
    Like
    21
    Liked 276 Times in 164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OHL View Post
    There must be more to the story with Block. Highly unusual for the scrutineers and stewards to not take the bodywork weight into account.
    Yeah, I'm sure that we've seen cars lose bumpers and not be DQ'd. I wonder if the car was genuinely underweight (i.e would have been even with all bodywork) or someone was just looking for an excuse to penalise him.
    You're so beige, you probably think this signature is about someone else.

  8. #1698
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    21
    Like
    0
    Liked 26 Times in 9 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MrJan View Post
    No, I said that I could understand why the stewards may have been lenient in the circumstances.

    Also the place (advantage) that he gained by cutting the corner was ceded. It gave the stewards the excuse that they needed to put him in the final and continue the show, if they penalised him then it gives 2nd place to Petter. And if you haven't worked out that WRX is all about the show then you must have your eyes closed.
    I haven't watched the race yet and seen if the position gained was ceded back. if so, then it would be normal that there would be no penalty. Is this confirmed, does anyone know if he did back off and was overtaken giving the position back? Did you see that Mr. Jan?

  9. #1699
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    184
    Like
    52
    Liked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    Well, the track limits are there for a reason. If Ekstrom was given a penalty for cheating by taking shortcuts on track he would have been either behind Bakkerud = No final for Ekstrom or at least behind Petter which would place Petter on row two in the final and Ekstrom in row three. If he had braked lie the rest and driven within track limits he would have been third for sure, and possibly passed by Bakkerud in the final corner. He was in a bad place when he decided to just ignore the last corner.

    The judges failure to strike down on this cheating could have decided the battle between 2/3 and 5/6 (Bakkerud) in the championship. It should have been decided on track, within the track limits.

  10. #1700
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    184
    Like
    52
    Liked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OHL View Post
    I haven't watched the race yet and seen if the position gained was ceded back. if so, then it would be normal that there would be no penalty. Is this confirmed, does anyone know if he did back off and was overtaken giving the position back? Did you see that Mr. Jan?
    It was the final corner before the end of the semi, so nothing was given back.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •