Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: English

Liked 77 Times in 62 Posts

English

While I may sometimes act as the unwanted grammar police on here, one thing that never ceases to impress me is the standard of English displayed by some non-native speakers of the language. I mean, the likes of studi... sorry, wiruwiru, jens and Eki demonstrate virtually perfect idiomatic English, and ioan, gadjo_dilo and many others aren't far behind — often, ahead of those who actually speak and write in English as their mother tongue. So, how did those of you with these skills come to pick them up? While I studied German at university and lived in Germany until last week, my command of that language is dreadful in comparison.

Liked 82 Times in 63 Posts
    Wots ur point BDunnell?
    “If everything's under control, you're going too slow.” Mario Andretti

Liked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Thanks for the compliment! I studied in an English-specialized high school called Tallinn English College. We had many English lessons, as well as English Literature, American Literature, and some other subjects in English. After that I went to uni in Helsinki where I also studied mostly in English; there was a special program for foreigners. Added to that, I've watched a lot of British comedy shows, which are excellent for picking up how the language is actually spoken: used and misused.

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well, I guess the biggest help has been that in Finland (I guess it's the same in Estonia) the English language TV programs and movies (and they are plenty) aren't dubbed into a local language, like in many bigger countries. I found it very amusing watching American sitcoms dubbed in Polish in a hotel room in Poland. Or watching Dallas dubbed in Spanish in a motel room in California. I think I have picked up most of the colloquial English I know from TV and radio.