Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Liked 14 Times in 13 Posts

Recommendations wanted for first time car buyer

I'm looking to buy a car in the next few weeks. Due to strict financial constraints, I will only be able to afford a 1.0 litre engine. I would like if you can post some recommendations on the UK car market (this is much the same as Ireland). My limit is about €800 (and prices cheaper than this will be factored into account as I am a full time student). What do I need the car for? I will be doing a lot of travelling around the country for field recordings and interviews for a music project I'm undertaking, as well as more domestic reasons. Also, I want to get in as much practice as I can before I do my driving test (coming up soon). The following list of cars are ones I've been mostly considering:

HIGHLY - Seat Ibiza, Peugeot 106, Opel Corsa
    OTHER - Volkswagon Polo, Citroen Saxo, Ford Fiesta

If any of you have experience of the above cars, please let me know the pros and cons you realised. And, if you can suggest any alternative cars, I'd be open to considering something else.

Thank you
    Tír gan teanga, tír gan anam

Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Does it strictly need to be 1.0l? I used to have a 1.1l Pug 206 'Look' which was a nice little run around. Mine was a 2002 but I'd guess if you were looking at something slightly older you could maybe pick one up in your price range.
    My phone has an alarm clock! Ner Ner! :p

Admin
    Liked 125 Times in 92 Posts
    Problem is for £800 you won't get a car which is going to be reliable enough to go all around the country. Locally; fair enough.

Of course your main problem is not going to be the cost of the car but the cost of the insurance!
    Please 'like' our facebook page http://www.facebook.com/motorsportforums

Liked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 52Paddy