Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Happy (belated) Birthday Bernie

Forgot to post this a couple of weeks ago.

El Supremo is 80 and congratulations to him (wonder if he will retire in 7 years as he once promised)

I cannot think of anyone that has been in F1 as long as Bernie. His appearances date back to the first year of the F1 Constructors Championship in 58 and probably before then (I'm no Bernie expert).

Bernie's legacy is undeniable. F1 driver (briefly), Team Owner, Drivers and teams representative and head of the Commercial side of the sport. He took a rag tag, imploding series and turned it into the show case it is today. He has also done more for driver safety than almost anyone else and driven through improvements that have saved countless lives.

There are things that I'm sure people dislike about Bernie but IMHO F1 would probably have dissolved into civil war and torn itself apart, probably on numerous occasions, without his leadership.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    *crickets chirp*

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by maximilian
    *crickets chirp*

It's easy to slate Bernie but I doubt many fans appreciate just what contribution he has made.

I would class myself as a Bernie critic for some of his actions which could be described as dubious to say the least but his singlemindedness and devotion to the sport are unquestionable whether you share his ethics and ethos or not.

Still, I'll express my gratitude to him for delivering the sport from the chaos it threatened to bury itself in.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    *crickets still chirp*

Liked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    I'll hand it to him for being an expert [yet sly and ruthless] negotiator and for living as long as he has, avoiding any natural death and, probably, the gun of many hitmen :