Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Question regarding special stages

Hi everyone, I am new to the world of the WRC. I have been a big fan of rallying and motorsport in general for a long time, but only last week when I found links to download this season's Motors TV broadcasts I was finally able to immerse myself in this wonderful sport.

Now, I have a few very essential questions concerning the special stages.
    How do they select the stages? Do they change them from one season to the next?

I saw that in some rallies they race through the same stage twice. Why do they do that? The world is big enough for more stages . Do they race the stage one way and back in reverse the second time? That would make more since but I saw no reference to that on the boardcasts.

Thanks a lot and I am happy to join this community!

Liked 335 Times in 204 Posts
    It all depends on the country. Some stages are reversed or run twice in a day, generally for the help of TV so that the rally is kept in one area. Also it depends on getting permission to run a stage on that track. In the UK there is a law banning the closure of public roads so we only have gravel tracks. Most of these tracks are in Forests run by the Forestry Commission so organisers need thier permission. Additionally the tracks are fairly expensive as the organisers are charged depending on how many miles they use and the number of cars going through.

Not really sure how stages are selected. Most have been used for years and are well known. Usually a WRC event would be chosen depending on where the main service park is and the area that the rally is based around. Choices would also be made depending on the condition of the roads, length and how easy they are to get to.

The stages used quite often vary from year to year, or will be held at different times over the weekend.